Department of Mechanical Engineering

Aditi  Sengupta
assistant Professor

Research Interests:

 aditi@iitism.ac.in      0  




Ajay  Bhandari
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Bio-Fluid Mechanics, Medical-Image based Numerical Modelling, Patient-specific computational models, Cancer and ocular drug delivery.

 ajayb@iitism.ac.in      6283449824  




Alok Kumar Das
associate professor

Research Interests:
Un-conventional machining, micro-machining, laser processing of materials

 alokmech@iitism.ac.in      9264445842  




Amit Rai Dixit
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Additive Manufacturing, nano-fluids/inks, Non-conventional machining processes surface engineering, production management

 amitraidixit@iitism.ac.in      9430133003  




Amitava  Mandal
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Non-traditional machining, Surface Engineering, Additive Manufacturing

 amitava@iitism.ac.in      9471191826  




Amlan  Kar
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Solid State Joining; Dissimilar Welding; Metal Matrix Composite; Metal Forming; Friction Stir Welding And Processing

 amlankar@iitism.ac.in      7679954198  




Antarip  Poddar
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Active Matter Hydrodynamics, Marangoni Effects in Electrohydrodynamics, Electrokinetics, Thermodynamic Optimization.

 antarip@iitism.ac.in      0  




Arun  Dayal Udai
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Industrial Robotics: Force Control, Parallel Robots, Mechatronics and Computer Graphics (CAD, GUI, Simulation)

 arunudai@iitism.ac.in      9523125843  




Ashis  Mallick
associate professor

Research Interests:
Phase Field Simulation, Nanostructured & Nanocomposite Materials, Thermal Stresses in Fin

 mallick@iitism.ac.in      9471192246  




Deepak Kumar  Mandal
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Drop evaporation, shedding, drop impact on various surfaces, drop - acoustics interactions, interfacial flow, flow visualisation

 deepak@iitism.ac.in      0  




Kailash  Jha
associate professor

Research Interests:
Cad/cam, curve and surface modeling/water pipe network

 kailash0403@gmail.com      9431120009  




Kalyan Kumar Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Advanced manufacturing, Advanced Nano Composite Materials, Fracture Mechanics & Contact Mechanics

 kksingh@iitism.ac.in      9471191207  




Madan Lal Chandravanshi
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Maintenance engg , Condition monitoring, Structural failure analysis, underwater acoustics

 madan@iitism.ac.in      9471191089  




Md Sikandar Azam
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Machine Design, Tribology; Lubrication and bearing Design, Vibration of plated structure (FGM Plates, Nano plates, Plates on foundation), Structural acoustics, Composite material, dental material

 mdsazam@gmail.com, mdsazam@iitism.ac.in      9471191569  




Nirmal Kumar Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Statistical quality control /statistical process control, manufacturing process/workshop technology, Measurement and Control(Metrology), Reliability Maintenance Engineering and Quality Engineering and Management

 nirmal@iitism.ac.in      9431711359  




Pawan Kumar Singh
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Heat transfer, Nanofluids, microfluidics, Thermal Management, Thin Film Evaporation, Acoutsofluidics

 pawan@iitism.ac.in      7781002230  




Prashanta Kr Mahato
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Composite Material: computational & experimental mechancics, active vibration control; Aero-elasticity

 pkmahato@iitism.ac.in      9431120024  




Rabindra Nath Hota
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Technical acoustics, Vibration

 rnhota@iitism.ac.in      9471192137  




Rakesh  Kumar
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Transient heat flux measurement analysis, Temperature Sensors (Thin film gauge, Coaxial thermocouple, Thermocouple, etc.), Internal Combustion Engine, Solar air heater.

 rakesh@iitism.ac.in      9471191668  




Randip Kumar Das
professor

Research Interests:
thermodynamics, refrigeration, heat transfer

 randip@iitism.ac.in      9431126078  




Sachin Kumar Singh
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Machinery condition monitoring, Signal processing, Rotor dynamics

 sachinks@iitism.ac.in      9102991041  




Sandipan Kumar Das
professor

Research Interests:
Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Multiphase Flows, Boundary Integral Methods, Turbulence Modeling Theory, Green Energy.

 sandipan@iitism.ac.in      9830421745  




Sanjoy K Ghoshal
associate professor

Research Interests:
modeling and simulation of dynamical systems, fluid power and control

 sanjoykghoshal@iitism.ac.in      9431711283  




Sarthak S. Singh
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
1. Mechanical characterization (Quasi-static and Dynamic) of heterogeneous materials 2. Adhesion and mixed mode fracture analysis of bi-material interfaces 3. Laser induced spall characterization and optical metrology 4. Micromechanical damage mechanics 5. Dynamic Mechanical Thermal Analysis (DMTA)

 sarthakssingh@iitism.ac.in      9198971600  




Satyabrata  Sahoo
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Solid sorption systems, Heat and Mass Transfer, Refrigeration and Air conditioning. Thermodynamic Optimization, Energy Storage

 satya@iitism.ac.in      0  




Shailendra Narayan Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, CFD, Solar Energy

 snsingh@iitism.ac.in      9471191153  




Shibayan  Sarkar
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Fluid Machines, Hydraulic turbine, Pipe Network, Water Resources.

 shibayan@iitism.ac.in      9471191818  




Somnath  Chattopadhyaya
associate Professor

Research Interests:
manufacturing

 somnathchattopadhyaya@iitism.ac.in      9431954821  




Subhankar  Sen
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Computational Fluid Dynamics, Finite element in fluids, Bluff body aerodynamics, Separated flow, Fluid-structure interactions

 ssen@iitism.ac.in      0  




Subramanian  Narayanan
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Experimental aero-acoustics, aerodynamics, high speed and low speed jet flows, Atomization of droplets and sprays, Acoustic-droplet interactions

 narayan@iitism.ac.in      8051200072  




Subrata Kumar Ghosh
associate professor

Research Interests:
Tribology, Nano-Lubrication, Turbo-machinery and Cryogenics

 subrata@iitism.ac.in      9430187029  




Swagata  Bhaumik
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
(1) Stability and Transition of Incompressible and Compressible Fluid Flows, (2) Development of High Accuracy Numerical Methods for DNS, (3) Flow Control by Active and Passive Mechanisms, (4) Prediction and estimation of Jet-Noise

 swagatabhaumik@iitism.ac.in      9149683769  




Tapan Kumar Sengupta
visiting professor

Research Interests:
HPC and High Accuracy Scientific Computing

 tksengupta@iitism.ac.in      9628755793  




Vivek  Bajpai
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
manufacturing machining and metal casting

 vivek@iitism.ac.in      9430351330  




Zafar  Alam
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Magnetic field assisted finishing processes, Nanofinishing, Magnetorheological fluid, Industrial Automation, Motion Control, Industry 4.0

 zafar@iitism.ac.in      9999236760