Department of Applied Geology

A S Venkatesh
professor

Research Interests:
Ore Geology, Mining Geology, Environmental Geology, Medical Geology and Mineral Exploration

 asvenkatesh@iitism.ac.in      0  




A K Varma
professor

Research Interests:
Coal Geology,Organic Petrology,Organic Geochemistry, CBM,Shale Gas,Source Rock Characterization, CO2 Sequestration and Coal Conversion

 atul@iitism.ac.in      9431724156  




Ajoy Kumar Bhaumik
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Micropaleontology, Paleoclimatology, Paleoceanography, Petroleum Geology

 ajoy@iitism.ac.in      0  




Alik Sundar Majumdar
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Mineralogy, Geochemistry

 asmajumdar@iitism.ac.in      7045800260  




Anand  Rajagopal
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Crustal evolution during Archaean/Precambrian.

 anandr@iitism.ac.in      7631704704  




Anup Krishna Prasad
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Climate Change, Aerosols, Glaciers, Hyperspectral RS & Exploration, Geostatistics & GIS, Natural hazards, Image Processing & Spatial Analysis,

 anup@iitism.ac.in      9471192451  




B C Sarkar
professor

Research Interests:
geostatistics

 bhabesh@iitism.ac.in      9431121653  




D  Asthana
professor

Research Interests:
igneous petrology and geochemistry

 asthana@iitism.ac.in      9431122641  




Kripamoy  Sarkar
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Rock mechanics, slope stability analysis and numerical modeling

 kripamoy@iitism.ac.in      9570145254  




Mrinal Kanti Mukherjee
associate professor

Research Interests:
structural geology in exploration and engineering geology, deformation of proterozoic basins

 mrinal@iitism.ac.in      9431711148  




Prabodha Ranjan Sahoo
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Mineral Exploration, metallogeny of precious and basemetals, ore geochemistry, fluid inclusion studies

 prabodha@iitism.ac.in      7549200242  




Pranab  Das
assistant professor

Research Interests:
Geochemistry, Marine Geochemistry, Marine geomorphology

 pranab@iitism.ac.in      9471191892  




Rajendra Kumar Dubey
associate professor

Research Interests:
geotechnical engineering, enginnering geology, experimental geology

 dubey@iitism.ac.in      9431711058  




Sahendra  Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Economic Geology (Gold Metallogeny of Archean-Proterozoic Orogenic Metamorphic Belt ), Mineral exploration, Mineral Economics

 sahendra@iitism.ac.in      9471191375  




Sarada Prasad Mohanty
professor

Research Interests:
Structural geology and Geotectonics

 mohantysp@iitism.ac.in      9431122457  




Shushanta  Sarangi
associate professor

Research Interests:
stable isotope geology, geochronology and geochemistry

 shushanta@iitism.ac.in      9471173190  




Tajdarul Hassan Syed
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Hydrology and Remote Sensing

 tsyed@iitism.ac.in      9430320286  




Upama  Dutta
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
metamorphic petrology

 upama@iitism.ac.in      9471192212