Department of Physics

Amitava  Adak
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Experimental research on high intensity laser-matter interaction in nanosecond to femtosecond regime. Ultrafast laser-plasma dynamics. Laser ablation study at plane solid and nanostructured surfaces. Warm-dense-matter science and laboratory astrophysics. High harmonic generation (HHG) and attoscience etc.

 amitavaadak@iitism.ac.in      9800038463  




Anil Kumar Nirala
professor

Research Interests:
Laser based interferometry, Speckle Metrology, Holography, Biospeckle Optics, Image processing and Optical Engineering

 aknirala@iitism.ac.in      0  




Asit Kumar Kar
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Experimental micro and nanoscience

 asit@iitism.ac.in      3262235403  




Binata  Panda
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
string theory

 binata@iitism.ac.in      8877169589  




Bobby Kachappilly Antony
professor

Research Interests:
Atomic and Molecular Physics; Molecular Spectroscopy

 bobby@iitism.ac.in      9470194795  




Jairam  Manam
professor

Research Interests:
Luminescence Studies,Material Science,Defect Solid State Studies

 jmanam@iitism.ac.in      9471192138  




Jhasaketan  Nayak
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Metal oxide semiconductor nanostructures for energy & environment, Nanocomposites and electroceramics for sensors.

 nayakj@iitism.ac.in      8051154726  




Kaushal  Kumar
assistant professor

Research Interests:
photoluminescence, raman spectroscopy

 kkumar@iitism.ac.in      0  




Pallian Murikkoli Sarun
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Material Science, Superconductivity, Transport properties of materials, Fine ceramics, Supercapacitance, Impedance Spectroscopy

 sarun@iitism.ac.in      9471191816  




Pankaj  Mishra
associate Professor

Research Interests:
condensed matter theory

 pankaj@iitism.ac.in      9470194401  




Peayush Kumar Choubey
assistant professor

Research Interests:
Unconventional superconductivity , Theory of scanning tunneling spectroscopy, Strongly correlated electron systems

 peayush@iitism.ac.in      9916348002  




Prashant Kumar Sharma

Research Interests:
Nanomaterials for sensing/bio-sensing, Opto-electronic/Energy devices (LEDs, Solar Cells/Energy devices), HER/OER, Bio-medical (drug-delivery/MRI) areas etc.

 prashant@iitism.ac.in      9471191339  




R.  Thangavel
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Quantum control of spin qubits in semiconductor nanostructures, Semiconductor devices-solar cells, LEDs, Thin film transistor (TFT) and electronic band structure calculations using WIEN2K(FP-LAPW) & TB-LMTO software

 rthangavel@iitism.ac.in      9471191337  




Rakesh Singh  Moirangthem
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Plasmonics and photonic devices, Optical Sensors, Nanofabrications

 rakeshap@iitism.ac.in      8877168602  




Ram Bilash Choudhary
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Polymer Derived Nano/ Meso Structured B/T Hybrid Materials Operative to Energy Storage Devices (Electrochemical Capacitors/ Supercapacitors, Rechargable Batteries, Fuel Cells, Dielectric Capacitors), Photo Voltaic (Solar Cells) Devices , Organic Light Emitting Diodes (OLEDs) and Optoelectronic Devices.

 rbchoudhary@iitism.ac.in      0  




Shailendra Kumar Sharma
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Solid state physics, Materials science & luminescence

 sksharma@iitism.ac.in      9431121600  




Soumya  Bagchi
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Experimental Nuclear Physics, Radioactive and Exotic Nuclei, Collective Excitations in Nuclei, Matter and Charge Radii in Exotic Nuclei, Nuclear Astrophysics.

 sbagchi@iitism.ac.in      0  




Sridhar  Sahu
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Computational Material Science: Hydrogen Storage, Organic Semiconductors & Photovoltaic, Nano-clusters

 sridharsahu@iitism.ac.in      0  




Sudeshna  Sen
assistant professor

Research Interests:
condensed matter physics

 sudeshna@iitism.ac.in      9008764512  




Tusharkanti  Dey
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Spin-orbit coupling driven Mott insulators, Geometrically frustrated magnetic materials, Solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR)

 tushar@iitism.ac.in      9007841386  




Umakanta  Tripathy
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Biophysics

 utripathy@iitism.ac.in      9471192489  




Vineet Kumar Rai
professor

Research Interests:
Atomic & Molecular Physics, Laser Physics, nanophosphors, Nanophotonics

 vineetkrrai@iitism.ac.in      9470194790  




Vinod Kumar Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Optical Fiber Sensors, Design and characterization of Photonic Crystal Fibers for various applications

 vksingh@iitism.ac.in      9471191037