Department of Physics

Amitava  Adak
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Intense Laser-Matter interaction, Laser-Solid Ablation Dynamics for Nanoscience, High Energy Density Science, Laser-Plasma Dynamics, Warm Dense Matter Physics, High Harmonic Generation (HHG) and its application etc...

 amitavaadak@iitism.ac.in      9800038463  




Anil Kumar Nirala
professor

Research Interests:
Laser based interferometry, Speckle Metrology,Holography, Biomedical physics, Image processing and Optical Engineering

 aknirala@iitism.ac.in      0  




Asit Kumar Kar
associate professor

Research Interests:
Experimental micro and nanoscience

 asit@iitism.ac.in      0  




Binata  Panda
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
string theory

 binata@iitism.ac.in      8877169589  




Bobby Kachappilly Antony
professor

Research Interests:
Atomic and Molecular Physics; Molecular Spectroscopy

 bobby@iitism.ac.in      9470194795  




Jairam  Manam
professor

Research Interests:
Luminescence Studies,Material Science,Defect Solid State Studies

 jmanam@iitism.ac.in      9471192138  




Jhasaketan  Nayak
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Oxide-semiconductor nanostructures for energy & environment, Nanocomposites and electroceramics for for sensors

 nayakj@iitism.ac.in      8051154726  




Kaushal  Kumar
assistant professor

Research Interests:
photoluminescence, raman spectroscopy

 kkumar@iitism.ac.in      0  




P. M.  Sarun
assistant professor

Research Interests:
Material science, Superconductivity, Transport properties of materials, Fine ceramics, Supercapacitance, Impedance Spectroscopy

 sarun@iitism.ac.in      0  




Pankaj  Mishra
associate Professor

Research Interests:
condensed matter theory

 pankaj@iitism.ac.in      9470194401  




Prashant Kumar Sharma
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Nanomaterials for sensing/bio-sensing, Opto-electronic/Energy devices (LEDs, Solar Cells/Energy devices), HER/OER, Bio-medical (drug-delivery/MRI) areas etc.

 prashant@iitism.ac.in      9471191339  




R.  Thangavel
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Quantum control of spin qubits in semiconductor nanostructures, Semiconductor devices-solar cells, LEDs, Thin film transistor (TFT) and electronic band structure calculations using WIEN2K(FP-LAPW) & TB-LMTO software

 rthangavel@iitism.ac.in      9471191337  




Rakesh Singh  Moirangthem
assistant professor

Research Interests:
Plasmonics and photonic devices, Optical Sensors, Nanofabrications

 rakeshap@iitism.ac.in      8877168602  




Ram Bilash Choudhary
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Polymeric Nanohybrid B/T Materials for Energy Storage, Photovoltaics & Optoelectronic Devices

 rbchoudhary@iitism.ac.in      0  




Shailendra Kumar Sharma
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Solid state physics, Materials science & luminescence

 sksharma@iitism.ac.in      9431121600  




Soumya . Bagchi
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Radioactive ion beam, active target technique, collective excitation in nuclei: giant resonances in exotic nuclei, interaction and charge changing cross section measurements, fragment separators, halo nuclei, neutron skin.

 sbagchi@iitism.ac.in      0  




Sridhar  Sahu
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Hydrogen Storage, Organic Semiconductors & Photovoltaic, Nano-clusters, Quantum Chemistry

 sridharsahu@iitism.ac.in      0  




Tusharkanti  Dey
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Spin-orbit coupling driven Mott insulators, Geometrically frustrated magnetic materials, Solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR)

 tushar@iitism.ac.in      9007841386  




Umakanta  Tripathy
assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Biophysics

 utripathy@iitism.ac.in      9471192489  




Vineet Kumar Rai
professor

Research Interests:
Atomic & Molecular Physics, Laser Physics, nanophosphors, Nanophotonics

 vineetkrrai@iitism.ac.in      9470194790  




Vinod Kumar Singh
associate Professor

Research Interests:
Optical Fiber Sensors, Design and characterization of Photonic Crystal Fibers for various applications

 vksingh@iitism.ac.in      9471191037